Challenging your problem solving skills to accept failure

Mehroze Nasir
10 min readApr 30, 2021
Abdul Sattar Edhi (1928–2016)

Problem solving is an act you do where you first identify what the problem is, then you find the reason for that problem, think about various solutions and apply the best one in accordance to the situation. However, the solutions we think and implement do not always work, we fail to solve the problem and that is the point where most of the people get demotivated and give up completely when they must try to implement other solutions. The other solutions might not have a suitable environment to apply, that does not mean you did not think and try. Point is you tried what can be done in the best possible way.

In order to accept the failures by using problem solving skills, we were assigned to collect donations for the Edhi Foundation as after the death of Abdul Sattar Edhi, they need the funds more because the person who started begging for others not for him is no more. We accepted this challenge and tried to collect as much as we can. We worked individually as well as in groups.

Our group, Donation Connectors, has 9 members. Asid Ali, Fasi-ur-Rehman, Lyba Noor, Manahil Riaz, Mehroze Nasir, Muhammad Ahmad, Muhammad Wasif, Saira Saeed and Sidra Sajjad. We did meetings on Zoom because we were not able to meet each other due to pandemic to make strategies on how we can collect funds in a maximum way.

Zoom Meeting for Edhi Fund Collection

Everyone tried their best to collect the funds from family and friends as well as strangers by coming out of their comfort zone. However, due to the Coronavirus alarming situation, each of us was not able to go out to collect funds. But this thing does not stop us to ask for donations from others. We did it online as well offline. Everyone experiences differently in each situation, let’s read the experience of each member individually.

People know that I have adopted four principles in living my life: simple living, punctuality, hard work and prudence — Abdul Sattar Edhi, The Man Keeps on Giving

How was the experience of collecting funds for a social cause?

Asid Ali: It was a brilliant experience for me, although I have collected funds for a social cause before but this was different. I observe others behavior very closely in this regard. In our society, people are of more talk and of less action. There is a difference between their thoughts and thinking. Everyone admires Edhi Saab but no one is willing to pay some rupees from his pocket for Edhi Saab.
Fasi-ur-Rehman: It was a very good experience. Actually, it was sort of like a motivation and I approached many people and the majority of people refused. But there were other people too who donated, they were few. They just did hear the name of Edhi Saab, they did not ask the second question and they donated directly. It was beneficial in the terms of comfort zone. By coming out of my comfort zone, I approached many people. Communication skills are being approved and I learnt how to approach different types of people at the same time. Some were literate, some were just businessmen, some were illiterate, some people were blank they did not even know about Edhi Saab. I learnt that in order to do something big, we need to come out of our comfort zone.
Lyba Noor: It was a heartwarming experience. I felt happy that I did something for someone as I think our main role in our life is to help others and Edhi foundation is helping everyone everywhere so it was a very good experience to be a part of something that spreads positivity and helps everyone on a large scale.
Manahil Riaz: Collecting funds was an incredibly great experience especially collecting funds for Edhi foundation is of highly lovable for me.
Mehroze Nasir: My experience was the mixture of happiness and disappointment. There are many people who love what Edhi Saab did but those people are just good with words. On the other hand, I was happy to see those people who just donated right away even though they did not ask and said something fancy and did not even ask for a receipt. I learnt that there are very people who are selfless but they are enough to make a difference.
Muhammad Ahmad: I did not collect funds before, but by performing this activity I managed to find a new kind of skill of persuading others and talking to them about donations as much as they can. My interaction got better than before.
Muhammad Wasif: It was not too good because I had to bear different behaviors of people who were not believing me or might be considering it fraud like thing. Some people did not show any interest, not a positive nor negative response from their side. I learnt how these foundations collect funds and bear these behaviors.
Saira Saeed: This activity taught me a lot of things. I learned how to make-up with people and convince them. How can I handle issues related to fundraising or any other money collection? How to hold a response, either it is good or bad. I also underwent emotional challenges. Some circle members took it light while others found it humiliating rejection. Some called it a failure, and some declared it a half success.
Sidra Sajjad: It was such an amazing activity.

Did you collect funds individually or in a group? How was it different?

Asid Ali: I did it individually. I think it will be easier in a group.
Fasi-ur-Rehman: I did this activity in a group. We were 4 people. 3 girls (Asia, Samoona and Sumaria, Amal Fellows) and me. It was good teamwork.
Lyba Noor: I collected funds individually. Although I was not able to collect much funds but it still felt good that at least I tried to do something good and helped someone in a great task.
Manahil Riaz: I collected my funds for Edhi individually. I collected funds from my family members and friends. Due to the highly imminent condition of COVID-19, my parents did not allow me to go outside. The friends that were living near my house I reached out to them for funds. It was different because I asked my parents to let me go outside but they resisted.
Mehroze Nasir: I collected funds online due to the situation of pandemic. I had to come out of my comfort zone even for friends and family to ask them for donations.
Muhammad Ahmad: We collect funds in group as well as individually. I contact my friends on WhatsApp and ask them to donate and to make some contact through phone calls. I met some people physically and tried to convince them to donate. Some convinced and some not convinced.
Muhammad Wasif: I tried to collect individually by sending personal messages in my circles and by directly asking some people.
Saira Saeed: I collect funds individually. It was a different experience throughout my life.
Sidra Sajjad: I completed my task individually. It was so difficult for me.

What challenges did you face? And how did you overcome those challenges?

Asid Ali: First of all, begging or asking someone for something was gravely difficult for me, but I did it anyway. There were some people who said “You should give it to yourself”. Even few of them said very frustrating things about Edhi Saab and his working. it was very difficult for me to even listen to it but I tried my best to convince them by arguing.
Fasi-ur-Rehman: There were many challenges like some people did not even bother to respond. They were like “Paala Howey”. More than 60–70% people did not donate at all. Out of these 70 %, 30% were who make us feel insulted.
Lyba Noor: I was ignored by many people. Many people praised me for doing something good for society and people but didn’t donate any money. I tried to persuade people but they didn’t take notice, I didn’t feel bad or demotivated due to those people and continued my task.
Manahil Riaz: The major challenge was Covid-19. I really asked my parents to let me go outside but they resisted my decision. They argued that Covid-19 is very prevalent in our area. There are many cases in our area. I overcame this challenge by asking my parents and siblings to contribute to this fund. I started collecting it from my home. Then I reached out to nearby friends.
Mehroze Nasir: My biggest challenge was to come out of my comfort zone and ask others for donations, For friends and family, I made a digital poster and sent that to them. For the strangers, I reached out to one group on Facebook, but the admin did not approve my post. Even after I told her about my purpose and that I am not going to collect money by myself, it will directly go to the Edhi Foundation. She just said “ we do not accept these kinds of posts but best of luck for this”. I got disappointed for a while but then I told myself it is ok to face rejection. Mostly people appreciate me for this cause but they did not donate anything to which I accept that at least they are encouraging me.
Muhammad Ahmad: The challenges that I faced include: when I sent messages most of my fellows didn’t see and when they saw, there was no reply from them. So I again texted them back via voice message and explained the whole situation and appealed for donation. Second challenge that I faced, one of my college mate said it looked fake (Permission Letter), so it was quite surprising for me but I calmly explain to him that it was not fake, we had a project given by Amal Academy and I also asked him to google about Amal Academy and when he did, he was quite satisfied.
Muhammad Wasif: The most challenge I face was convincing people for funds but unfortunately I was unable to do.
Saira Saeed: Success and failure are part of life. If we focus on our defeat, it will eventually become an enormous bubble of fear and fear is toxic for the brain, aims, and dreams. But if we try to face the fear, it will be a tiny drop of concern that ripple on the surface of the ocean of our thoughts and then absorb it in you to open new endeavors to accomplishment.
Sidra Sajjad: I faced many challenges like many fellows told me you cannot do it. I felt so bad but I trusted in myself and kept trying and Alhamdulillah I was able to convince many people by my words.

How has this experience helped you in accepting failure?

Asid Ali: It helped me a lot in this regard. I didn’t receive any donations. It was a complete failure but I accepted it. Like I tried my best but there is nothing I can do if people aren’t willing to donate anything. But also I realized that maybe fault was in my campaign or I wasn’t able to reach out to people in a way that was expected from me.
Fasi-ur-Rehman: This experience helped me in this regard that you always try your best, it depends upon other people whether they respond or not but never give up and accept that this failure does not mean we did not put any effort.
Lyba Noor: I think this was a very big opportunity to practice controlling ourselves when people say bad things about us or what we are doing. This opportunity helped me in accepting failure and keep doing the good deed, trying again and again and not giving up and also not to feel demotivated due to other people’s sayings.
Manahil Riaz: I accepted my failure to not go outside for the funds collection at organization. I accept that I am in the middle of a pandemic and I have to be a responsible citizen.
Mehroze Nasir: When 70 out of 71 people rejected me in a way that they just saw my message and status and they did not respond and when I sent them separate messages they just appreciated me and did not forward my request nor they donated. I just accepted this failure that I failed to convince them that whoever wants to donate, they do not need much motivation and also it is ALLAH Pak blessing on few people to give something selflessly.
Muhammad Ahmad:
I experienced failure because most of the fellow’s despite of fact they were agree to donate, but there was no response from them. I asked them about the reason and they were being like we are sending. But no response till yet. So I learned that we don’t have to waste our time behind such people because if someone wants to donate he does right at the moment.
Muhammad Wasif: As no one donates so I have to accept my failure. I realized that you do not always get much you work for but you can get some lessons from it.
Saira Saeed: There is no failure in any activity. It is an opportunity to give another try to things from a different perspective. Try a new angle to make it a success. Failure is not an object. It’s just a perception. All in all, it was a very positive and wonderful experience when we climbed the step stones regarding team-building issues, negativity, problem-solving, and conquering fear and failure.
Sidra Sajjad: When someone says to me you cannot do it. I did not feel well. But I accept my failure where I did not get donations that at least I tried my best.

Pictures from the activities

The Holy Book should open in your souls, not on your laps. Open your heart and see God’s people. In their plight you will find Him Abdul Sattar Edhi

--

--

Mehroze Nasir

Master’s Computer Science Student | International Scholarship Holder | Love to write